Notices

help im new!

Search this Thread

Old 19 September 2010, 06:38 PM
jayswagon
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default help im new! turbo question

before i start sorry if what i post has already been put up before!
i have just brought a 99 wrx 2.0L turbo wagon and have not really got a clue whats it has had done to it to be honest im new to the subaru world, i know it has a different exhaust from the cat back and has a forge dump valve fitted to it, and from what i can tell a makeshift boost control valve! it could be brought but im unsure looks a bit agricultural to Me!
any way i have a small problem when boosting in higher gears the car seems to hesitate? i have checked the normal things like maf, plugs etc etc, but i have a feeling that the boost may up too high? ive read somewhere that if its too high and there is no fuel regulator fitted it can do this, am i right? there is no boost gauge fitted but i intend to fit one asap so i can see what it is set at and possibly turn it down if its up too high.
we managed to get a mates boost control valve and swap it over, we also managed to use his boost gauge on it and see that on his valve we got a reading but with my makeshift control valve im getting no reading at all? the inlet and outlet pipes on my valve are bigger than his ones will this matter?
i would really appreciate any comments, i have never owned a petrol turbo car before and im a little in the dark with it all, thanks in advance and sorry if i have been stupid/ignorant in my post
regards
Jay

Last edited by jayswagon; 19 September 2010 at 06:53 PM.
Old 19 September 2010, 08:02 PM
f4la k
Scooby Regular

Does it still have the restrictor pill in the hose from the turbo compressor nipple to the boost control solinoid, it should look like a little brass thingy with a hole in it. I would check and see if its still there.
Old 19 September 2010, 09:30 PM
Glowplug
Scooby Regular

Originally Posted by f4la k