Notices

Regulator valve for lower boost

Search this Thread

Old 15 September 2010, 08:28 PM
ClintUK
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Regulator valve for lower boost

OK I know this is an unlikely question for this forum, probably more suited to Honda Civic owers from Bounmouth but here goes.

I have a UK 97 car with various mods including hybrid turbo, Miltek exhaust system, flowed OEM headers, 3 port boost valve, Apexi ECU and it's brilliant, 150K miles and rolling like a good one, quicker than 400bhp GTR, I know cos I got the speeding ticket.

I have honestly finished with the go faster bits.

HOWEVER, Ive been working away for 2 years in the UK and fuel prices are a little higher than I remember.

When I had the Apexi mapped I had 1.3bar as highest but lowest I could have was 0.6 bar which is the actuator pressure of the control value.

Does anyone know of a valve that would allow for a lower boost pressure, to aid in mpg.

I know its all about the right foot BUT come on we all know what its like.

Is there a simple boost control valve swap / mod I could do?
Cheers

ps - Nice to be back to the real car world from the US though (soon anyway)
Old 15 September 2010, 09:15 PM
dan83590
Scooby Regular

The easiest mod would be to throw the key in the bin..
Old 15 September 2010, 10:10 PM
Splitpin
Scooby Regular

Originally Posted by ClintUK
Is there a simple boost control valve swap / mod I could do?
The short answer is no, at least as far as modifications are concerned. If you have a 0.6 bar actuator you can't fit a valve to go lower than that. The only way to do so would be to adjust the actuator (if it's adjustable) or fit a weaker one (if it isn't).

If you really wanted to take steps in this area the best way forward would be to have it remapped. Or, if you have an FC Commander, drop the boost target yourself.

In the short term the best thing you can do really is learn to moderate your right foot a bit.
Old 16 September 2010, 11:38 AM