Notices

FAO: Moles Dad....DV question

Search this Thread

Old 01 April 2002, 03:07 PM
Ow
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question

I hope you dont mind me "targeting" you like this, but reading your various posts, you seem knowledgeable on the subject of dump valves...

Anyway, I'm sure I read on here a while ago that vent to atmos DV's can cause problems/damage e.g. borewash. I can't find the thread, hence the question: is this the case? I noticed you have an HKS SS BOV, which is the one I am considering, but obviously dont want to damage my pride and joy!

BTW, it seems my standard DV is on the way out; it's making the "blowing over bottle-top" noise on acceleration. The car is a 98MY Terzo.

Thanks in advance, and if anyone else can shed light, it would be much appreciated.

Regards, Owen
Old 01 April 2002, 08:05 PM
Moles Dad
Scooby Regular

Cool

Ow, I dont mind at all.

I am no expert though, all that I know about dump valves has come from my "tuning" on my car. (UK '99).

Now that we are in the realms of 300bhp and running circa 1.3bar there was a need to "uprate" the dv.

Was suffering big time shuddering on liftoff of the gas (at high rpm) and found that the HKS cured it BIG TIME.

From what I have read the MY98 if it is the phase one engine, *can* suffer from idle problems and poor running, the later engine phase two seems more tolerant.

As for bore wash, well I have only ever read that it would be such a small level of "overfuel" that it would not cause said problem.

Anyway, when it ignites in the exhaust it proves that it must be a) atomised and b) going through the cylinder head not the rings.

And...IT SOUNDS GGGRRREEEAAATTTTTT

Cheers, MD.

PS Try to borrow one to see how your car behaves, £250 is a lot to gamble.
Old 01 April 2002, 10:07 PM
Ow
Scooby Newbie

Thanks for the info....not sure if I'll be able to borrow one though

Incidently, why do VTA DV's sometimes cause irregular idle etc.?