Smo_GSR
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default How To: Replace the Idle Control Valve

Idle Control Valve (Error Code 33)

Symptoms;

- Lumpy Idle (~0 - ~900rpm)
- Cutting Out When Clutch Depressed

I'd like to begin by saying that this is my first Impreza and I may have made things more awkward for myself or the process longer so anybody who knows better please do step in. I won't be offended by any alternative methods.

I wrote this guide as my ICV was faulty and after a couple of hours searching the net I had no luck. I am new to Imprezas and don't know my way around the engine bay so I thought this would help others who needed to sort this problem.

This replacement was on a '98 JDM Import Version 4 STi - it may not be the same process for earlier or later models.

Step 1 - Identifying the Idle Control Valve

When stood looking at your engine bay, the ICV is located to the right of the throttle body on top of the inlet manifold. It has a pale brown cover and grey connector clip attached;

Step 2 - Disconnect the Battery!

Always disconnect the battery before working in your engine bay, especially when removing electrical connectors and coolant/fluid lines.

Step 3 - Remove the Intercooler

I found that the easiest way to access the bolts on the back of the ICV was to remove the intercooler. This consists of;

3x Jubilee Clips
2x 12mm Bolts

Firstly, undo the jubilee clip that connects your dumpvalve (or standard recirc valve) to the intercooler and remove. Then undo the top clip that holds the intercooler to the throttle body, and lastly undo the jubilee clip on the turbo outlet;

Now that is done all that is left are two 12mm bolts (circled below) that hold the intercooler in place. Undo both of these and lift it out of the engine bay. It will require some wriggling and tugging but you'll get there.

Step 4 - Removing the ICV

This consists of;

3x 10mm Bolts
2x Hose Clamps (you'll need pliers)