Notices

engine failure again! uk classic

Search this Thread

Old 13 June 2009, 07:05 PM
mbd sti2
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default engine failure again! uk classic

Basicaly my mates car a y reg classic uk turbo (prodrive car) number 2 piston melted a year and half ago i stripped it down then and then he sent it to a very well known engine builder i dont want to name them yet as i am not pointing fingers i have just stripped it again today after 13k miles and now piston 4 has melted! my mate had a full rebuild crank bearings pistons etc new maf then and another 12 months later as he was told this was the cause first time around, i was not convinced then but i was not to clued up then on impreza's, i am a mechanic, bentley trained and work on all types of cars and have built many engines and the 1st thing i always do is find the cause but he sent the car away but this time i get the build but i have only one idea at the moment that the injector for no4 cyl is not supplying enough fuel as its the first to get it on the rails any ideas are welcome here are some pics

he does not drive this car to hard he loves it to much and it only has a de-cat down pipe green panel filter and prodrive ecu but i cant see this causing the damage as it has not had a boost increase its running 1.1bar which it did before de-cat and it doesnt spike either as you may guess he aint happy as he did spend a few grand on this rebuild. I have no problems with the builder as i do talk to him when i need help and advise (through work) but i have found a few things i didnt like when stripping it but thats not in any way the cause any one had no4 melt before on here?
Old 13 June 2009, 11:16 PM
mbd sti2
Scooby Regular

anyone?
Old 14 June 2009, 08:16 AM
sy.
Scooby Regular