UK MY99 what upgrades ?

Search this Thread

Old 16 February 2008, 10:53 AM
chicken stevens
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile UK MY99 what upgrades ?

Hi people,

I have a my99 uk car with 70k on clock. i want a bit more power but i am a novice when comes to upgrading and need some help.
it allready has a exhaust with centre de cat, dump valve and induction kit, is this a good start and what else is available ? it would be nice to get up to 280 bhp but money is tight with wife and mortgage !!! i live around OXFORD and dont know of any recommended garages for my scooby. Can anyone help !

Cheers
Old 16 February 2008, 11:02 AM
New_scooby_04

Scoobyworld ninja sports cat down pipe £299
Decent backbox, type depends on preference for volume and tone (Haywood and scott do great scooby exhausts) circa £270
Ecutek remap £600

Personally, I'd ditch the induction kit for the std airbox, with a decent panel filter, especially on a MY99 which have fragile mafs (an induction kit will not have much effect at your desired power levels) and if you have a vent to atmosphere dump valve, I'd ditch that and return to std too; it does nothing to help performance and will impair drivability on a maf based ECU configuration.

Should see you to 270-280 very safely

Ns04
Old 16 February 2008, 11:05 AM
chicken stevens
Scooby Regular

cheers mate, i am needing all the advice i can get at the mo !!
Old 16 February 2008, 11:09 AM
New_scooby_04

Originally Posted by chicken stevens
cheers mate, i am needing all the advice i can get at the mo !!
Your welcome!
Old 16 February 2008, 11:34 AM
Slick81
Scooby Regular

Just to add to Ns04, you`ll need a fuel pump aswell to keep the "juice" flowing safely.

You`ve got Power Engineering in Uxbridge which isnt too far from you but iv neva had any work done from them so cant comment. But if you can make the trip up the M1 then id recommend Zen Performance.