Notices

OH GOD!!!...............

Search this Thread

Old 17 March 2007, 12:30 PM
scoob93
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default OH GOD!!!...............

right had the da cat system fitted now but when i got home there was lots of steam coming from the engine so i just put it down to the silicone etc!! HOWEVA ive looked in the boot and what appears to be the heatshield (i dont know if it definately is) is just sat there.................is this a problem?.....forgive my naiveity im not technically minded...............thanks
Old 17 March 2007, 12:35 PM
cookstar
Scooby Regular

where abouts in the engine bay was this "steam" coming from?
Old 17 March 2007, 12:37 PM
scoob93
Scooby Regular

thing is it was really dark last night when i got in so couldnt see but this morning i took a look and noticed i could see the exhaust (downpipe) as clear as day and i never used to be able 2.....................it could well be the silocone but why wouldnt he have put it on dyu think?
Old 17 March 2007, 12:38 PM
cookstar
Scooby Regular

If its a decat downpipe you done have heatshields on them, well mine doesnt, some people choose to wrap them.

Have you driven the car since?
Old 17 March 2007, 12:43 PM
Quatto
Scooby Regular

What year car do have?
Which cat was removed: downpipe, centre or both, and who was the manufacturer of the replacement sections?

Help us to help you LOL. It's likely if its a downpipe that the orginal heatshield will not fit. Smoke could be coincidental from another problem, or maybe wd40 that was used on the bolt fixings burning off.