Help (im new) classic problems

Search this Thread

Old 15 October 2006, 06:12 PM
karlh
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help (im new) classic problems

hi all
i am very new to the scooby world and have just purchased my first 2000 turbo wagon (2 weeks ago) 1994 (m reg) uk car
i have been enjoying the car alot since getting her , especially the noise (stainless exhaust + centre decat but other than that its standard)
i have got a couple of problems though , (1st) check engine light keeps comming on and off as and when it feels like it ( there is no running problems with the car when the light comes on or off) which is beginning to get on my **** (2nd) for the first time today i really gave her some stick and i was not happy . when i get to about 5k ish revs she feels like she is loosing boost or power . ie very smooth and fast accelaration up to 5k and then seems to hesitate or hold back (almost as if i was braking slightly) the rest of the way up to redline.
when i got back home with the car i had a quick look under the bonnet and after having a play with the accelarator cable ie revving the car up slighty , i could hear a solenoid ticking next to the maf / airbox (left side , sitting on suspension turret)
now i have read many threads on this site and i think it is possibley MAF , COILPACKS / SPARK PLUGS.
what do you guys think ?
if it helps i dont know when any of the above where last changed (always helpful , i know)

Last edited by karlh; 15 October 2006 at 06:14 PM.
Old 15 October 2006, 06:45 PM
nessscoob
Scooby Regular