Notices

Mechanical Buying Advice For A Subaru

Search this Thread

Old 02 August 2006, 10:13 PM
Ash512
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Mechanical Buying Advice For A Subaru

Im going to be looking at a 1998 Subaru Impreza Turbo with 85k miles on her. I have basic mechanical knowledge. What do I need to look for/do so that I dont end up with a munter.

Any help would be greatly appricated.

Thanks,

Ash
Old 03 August 2006, 10:27 PM
Ash512
Scooby Regular

anyone? All points appricated no matter how basic as I said my mechanical knowledge is VERY basic.

Thanks,

Ash
Old 03 August 2006, 11:43 PM
chrisd_my00
Scooby Newbie

Bought a my00 in March with 75k on and here's what needed sorting on mine.

Radiator - Core was breaking away. Check for green/blue discolouration on the back radiator fins. Replacement will be around £200 fitted.

Exhaust heat shields were corroded - rattle sound when starting/stopping engine. Shields can be removed if they haven't already been replaced with decat pipes.

Other than that just wear and tear (discs pads etc). If it has 85k on it, it will be due a cambelt change at 90k and expect to pay £300-£350 for a cambelt service.

Good Luck
Old 09 August 2006, 09:09 AM
haroldhettaturbo
Scooby Regular

I would get the maf sensor replaced m8, mine was fubared on my99 with 55000 on it.
Old 09 August 2006, 10:32 AM
ClintUK
Scooby Regular

As below and also check for smokie / noisy turbo - if they have been thrashed and not cooled properly before switching off engine they can be tired by 85K. Check any car hasn't been pre warmed when you go and have a look / test drive.

REALLY helpful if you can get a friend to follow you to check any smoke in the exhaust.

Check documented evidence of oil changes - really important.