Notices

What should i expect??

Search this Thread

Old 18 August 2005, 11:42 PM
vwrx
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What should i expect??

Hi all, I'm new to the subaru world so be gentle!!

I have a 78 Karmann Beetle that i've recently fitted a EJ20 version 5 engine in to, other than being plagued with problems with leaking chargecoolers and the like, i have a few questions i would like answers to.

1/ if i'm not running the speed sensor wiring, what would be the long and short term problems (other than the MIL lamp being on)??

2/ how do i look up part numbers (as i don't have a chassis number)? subaru are useless and won't help at all / can't be arsed.

3/ why is there a little metal restrictor in the waste-gate vac hose?

all thoughts would be good (not the ****-taking type!) as i'm losing the faith and summers running out.

thanks, Steve.
Old 21 August 2005, 08:56 PM
vwrx
Scooby Newbie

It would seem you lot are as helpful as the Subaru main dealers!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Give me a break and dare to be different!!!!
Old 21 August 2005, 09:55 PM
Ian
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I havent got a clue sorry m8, but all the best to ya, its v nice to see people doing something different.

could be worth asking on here, www.turbocrime.co.uk
Old 22 August 2005, 04:22 PM
powercrazed
Scooby Regular

Cant help with no1 but if you know what year car the engine came from then
http://www.rogerclarkmotorsport.co.uk would be a good bet as I think they can access the subaru parts catalogue. As for the metal restrictor, this helps keep boost levels to a sensible level. If im wrong, im sure someone will put you right.
Nathan
Old 22 August 2005, 05:07 PM
john banks
Scooby Regular

1. You may find that the revs are limited to about 3000 RPM and/or half throttle if it is like my MY00 UK car.

2. You can obtain a Subaru parts CD download from somewhere...