Scooby Chip Problems.

Search this Thread

Old 04 July 2005, 03:10 PM
STI RA
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Scooby Chip Problems.

Hiya,

I have a scooby chip fitted to my sti ra (1996) and I am a bit worried about using it. Its the single chip one with the 32 pins. I fitted it to the car and I hit the fuel cut which I am assuming is overboost. I am a bit wary now of putting in a chip that could have been programmed wrong for my car.

I am told that it has been mapped for a 7k ecu and TD05 turbo which is what I have. What is the worse case senario of fitting this to my car as the last thing I want is the engine to blow, is it possible this could happen if the map on the chip wasn't altered properly for my car or had been messed with. Apologies as these may be stupid questions but I have limited knowledge of these chips.

It is also supposed to be mapped for a full decat but I currently just have a decat centre and back box. The main reason I purchased it was to alter the fuel so I could run it on 97/98 ron. The activity on the knocklink was the same as before fitting the chip, if not a little more activity even with the chip but this could just be paranoia especially when it overboosted.

Any advise would be greatly appreciated
Old 05 July 2005, 12:04 AM
STI RA
Scooby Newbie

BTTT
Old 05 July 2005, 08:04 AM
Scott.T
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

If it's not showing red on the KL, then just lenghten the actuator by a few turns, or decrease the size of the restrictor in the return hose from the boost control solenoid.

This should help prevent the boost spikes.

P.S AFAIK it's not one of my chip's.
Old 05 July 2005, 09:39 AM
STI RA
Scooby Newbie

Cheers Scott,

No its not one of yours but I am wishing it was, maybe my heading is a bit misleading but was not sure what to call it, its one of them chips from Australia I think.