Notices

Knock correction - interpretation

Search this Thread

Old 10 September 2004, 11:21 AM
JohnD
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Knock correction - interpretation

Having finally got the correct PSi3 unit after the "shall remain nameless" shop sold me one for a Mini, I would appreciate some words of wisdom regarding the knock correction readings.
Generally it sits at zero then displays readings up to 11 -12 deg. depending upon throttle. I haven't noted readings when giving it some as I tend not to look down then! Are these readings the amount of advance or retard from the base timing figure? (there being no - in front of the figure) As there is no Knocklink activity I assumed it was the ECU advancing the timing.
I know this has been discussed some time ago, but if anyone can confirm and maybe compare I would appreciate it.
JohnD
Old 10 September 2004, 12:40 PM
scooby L
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

John,
I am no expert, and I am quoting (from memory, so may be slightly fuzzy) what Bob Rawle told me when I had Knock Link activity, and I was comparing it to my KC value on my SECS.
The KC value displayed is the correction of timing being applied by the ec to avoid DET occuring, this figure is not the total value, as there is further correction within the ecu's "inteligent learning" software that is not read by the SECS. This value could be + or - 6? degrees of the figure displayed...
My KC usually hovers around 0, until you plant your foot, then rises to 13 or so.. (but this could be more, just not shown).
Old 10 September 2004, 01:06 PM
john banks
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

System is complex, but from memory the system is as follows:

On a new age, positive (unsigned) knock correction is additive to the base map and is the item in [] below.

Total timing = base map + [(advance multiplier/16*correction map) + fine learning]