Few novice questions

Search this Thread

Old 18 May 2004, 09:34 AM
Comper100
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Wink Few novice questions

Hi all

I'm fairly new to the scooby scene. I just wanted to know, having searched through loads of posts whether a standard EJ20 engine with few mods can pass and MOT (Friendy one) with the downpipe CAT removed as the i would like to reduced the lag and it seams like this is a good way of doing it according to many a thread. Also when doing this mod, is it worth opening up the turbo end of the downpipe to aid flow?

Next question, has anyone experienced problems with aftermarket panel air filters clogging up the air flow meter with excess oil, and is the best way to modify the standard airbox by removing the snorkel thing in the wing?

Thanks for any replys
Cheers

Comper100
Old 18 May 2004, 12:41 PM
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

The full decat will fail the emmissions by a bloody mile.
The panel filter to use for trouble free motoring is a Subaru/Sti/Green cotton make, go for the Sti IMHO.
Good luke with the Scooby World!

Old 18 May 2004, 01:35 PM
Comper100
Scooby Regular

Cheers

What happens if i leave the centre Cat in, and just take the downpipe one off, would that be ok?

What air filters come standard with STI ones then?

Thanks
Comper100
Old 18 May 2004, 02:29 PM
The_Judge
Scooby Regular

What happens if i leave the centre Cat in, and just take the downpipe one off, would that be ok?
Some say that will pass, others say no. If your engine is operating as it should be, if the centre cat is in good condition, and is thoroughly warmed up just prior to the test, you stand a good chance of passing.

Also when doing this mod, is it worth opening up the turbo end of the downpipe to aid flow?
The well-known replacement downpipes will already have been "opened up"

and is the best way to modify the standard airbox by removing the snorkel thing in the wing?