Notices

Question for all ECU tuners

Search this Thread

Old 04 March 2003, 01:49 PM
Andy McCord
Scooby Regular

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Just wondering, alot off people put there hard earned pride & joys in your hands whilst you tweek away with ECU's but exactly what sort off training or apprenticeship do you go through if any to qualify you as a ECU Boff, I cant believe its a case off trial & errrror
Old 04 March 2003, 02:42 PM
john banks
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
If there was a qualifcation available that I was aware of I would have gone for it. Anything I could find had a rather dubious connection with Subaru ECU mapping, which is a skill that lies in the hands of not a huge number of people in the UK and is almost invariably self taught.

Some people tuning ECUs have an engineering background, some with qualifications to various levels. Some have a training in other professions. Not aware of anyone doing Subaru ECUs exclusively as a full time job in the UK.

A mechanic's training would not on the whole be a good background to mapping ECUs, having mapped cars with mechanics who have come along out of interest with owners the concepts are quite alien.

An electronics/IT knowledge is very useful, as is meticulous attention to detail.

I have to admit I had primarily the latter and a postgraduate understanding of science. I am not at all a good spanner twirler, and have a far more theoretical experience of engine tweaking.

In an unregulated, immature, extreme niche such as Subaru ECU mapping I think it would be difficult to have a recognised training. It is far too narrow.

At the end of the day it comes down to customer care, attitude, proven results/reliability and reputation/recommendation. Everyone has to start somewhere.