Upgrade Advice for a 07 WRX

Search this Thread

Old 19 April 2015, 10:36 PM
Zev
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Upgrade Advice for a 07 WRX

Evening Lads,

Five months ago I found the below motor which is completely standard, full extensive service history, 63,000 miles and one previous owner who was in his 60's. I told myself that I would leave it alone, but the problem with having a bit of power is that now I want some more.

I'm relatively new to doing work on cars myself, my current experience is changing a belt and replacing the breakpads/disks. I have plans to clean up and dress the engine bay as well as some grills for the front but I want to explore the options of increasing the power. My question to the ScoobyNet community is;

Where would you start when looking to upgrade a stock WRX?

Also if you could point me in the right direction for Garages that specialize in this kind of work it would be great!

Cheers,

Z
Old 20 April 2015, 03:41 PM
bludgod
Scooby Regular

Received 18 Likes on 16 Posts

first things for me were a proper service, then a boost gauge and a fuel pump. After that I just started following the andy forrest list:
http://www.andyforrestperformance.co.uk/27344.html

Been very happy with the results so far. The 2.5 is a nice engine and responds well to a remap with a good exhaust on it.
Old 20 April 2015, 09:58 PM
Zev
Scooby Newbie

Originally Posted by bludgod
first things for me were a proper service, then a boost gauge and a fuel pump. After that I just started following the andy forrest list:
http://www.andyforrestperformance.co.uk/27344.html

Been very happy with the results so far. The 2.5 is a nice engine and responds well to a remap with a good exhaust on it.
Hi bludgod,

Thanks for the feed back! I'm actually looking for a garage that will do a full service though I contacted one dealership and they quoted £900 (Not including CAM as its already been done). I really want to learn how to do it myself to be honest!