Notices
Essex Subaru Owners Club The official dedicated forum for Essex Subaru Owners Club Events.

Attention photographers, can i pick your brains

Search this Thread

Old 06 November 2007, 11:23 AM
frayz
Essex Area Moderator
Support Scoobynet!

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Attention photographers, can i pick your brains

Bare with me guys, im an engine builder and am lost when it comes to this sort of thing.

1/2 of me wants an SLR, the other wants a compact.

I like the idea of being able to possibly take better pics with the SLR, however i dont know if i will actually get the use out of it due to their cumbersome nature.

The other 1/2 is looking at a small compact that i can get nice pics with and slips into a pocket for a day trip or night out. Something like that new black Panasonic DMC-FX33.

Please help me with the pros/cons of each...

I dont have a massive budget either, say £450 tops really. I cant justify any more on a camera if im not a professional photographer ya know.

I just want nice pictures.. thats it lol.

Old 06 November 2007, 11:35 AM
Milamber
Scooby Senior

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Frayz I felt the same way about a D-SLR before I brought one. I thought they would be too cumbersome and more importantly too difficult to use.

Without a shadow of a doubt they are larger than a compact and can be quite heavy particularly with the longer lenses.

The photo's will nearly always be better with a D-SLR and you have MUCH more creative control. Take Dazza as an example he is a relative newbie to the D-SLR world and some of his photo's are fantastic.

You learn to live with the weight and carrying around a camera bag all the time but the reward is much better.

On the other hand you can have a midway point. Bri4n's camera takes some excellent pictures too but has a fixed lens (I believe)

If it was my choice I'd go for a D-SLR (Canon or Nikon) but beware it is an expensive and slippery slope....