Notices
Driving Dynamics Driving techniques (trail braking, power slides, donuts, scandinavian flicks, etc), and vehicle dynamics (roll centres, c/g weigh transfer, etc)

How to get Oversteer for a Newbie ?

Search this Thread

Old 27 November 2008, 05:27 PM
scoobyc
Scooby Regular

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default How to get Oversteer for a Newbie ?

im new to my scoob.

I have done some drifting* in a nice Merc sl & Clk but never 4wd and never on the roads.

Just got my scoob, i am yet to push it, and was wondering what circumstances will cause a bit of oversteer and how brutal to spin it would be.

With the merc's it was a case of the right speed with the right amount of power to brake traction, you kinda felt the back end float just before the slide began.

Should i just give it some welly going round a round about and see what happens or is some brave brake turn in power on with a 2nd gear clutch dump reguired?

Counter steer required? I believe the best is to just point where i want to go to avoid a tank slapper.

Im not after fully sideways, just a nice little slide/rear end wiggle to begin with.

*i say drifting, it was just lots of oversteer and the cars werent mine.
Old 27 November 2008, 05:39 PM
rickya
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Fit a thicker rear Anti roll bar, makes easy & sharper turn in with tail out easier
Old 27 November 2008, 06:55 PM
mbayley77
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

expect some hefty tank slapping from a scoob without much practice
Old 27 November 2008, 08:18 PM
scoobyc
Scooby Regular

yeah figures. just gotta resist the urg to counter steer too much i guess

Where you lot learn, just hooning around or take the car somewhere desolate like a car park or lorry park
Old 27 November 2008, 08:21 PM
scoobyc
Scooby Regular

will 2nd gear power out of a round about do the trick. I can get it pretty much moving sideways, but all wheels evenly tractioned. i.e. no understeer or over steer.