Newbie Question

Search this Thread

Old 29 April 2008, 08:43 AM
jimmy_wrxsti
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie Question

Hi all

Bought my 03 WRX STi bugeye impreza with PPP couple of weeks ago.

The car is everything i expected it to be power wise and am loving it. But a few niggles have surfaced and wondered what your take is on them.

First one is the clutch, i find pulling off in first gear a chore - now i have come from a Golf R32 and a Focus ST previously so initially thought it was different cars that were causing this but as ive owned it longer so the issue remains. Between 1.5-3k revs pulling off its sluggish, im not expecting lightening start but something more than im getting. When it engages the revs drop and cause the slow progress. Now i have thought about fact that a) im a rubbish driver and that its causing it but given previous cars and how they have behaved im not so sure. I have tried different revs to pull off at and found that if i am around 4k revs it pulls hard and immediately into power band but i dont always fancy pulling off at those revs!

Any ideas? Is it just off boost and therefore sluggish unless wanting to cane it off the line? could there be a problem with the clutch? am i just a rubbishj driver?!?
Old 29 April 2008, 09:37 AM
MrNoisy
Supporting Member

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts

Originally Posted by jimmy_wrxsti
Hi all

Bought my 03 WRX STi bugeye impreza with PPP couple of weeks ago.

The car is everything i expected it to be power wise and am loving it. But a few niggles have surfaced and wondered what your take is on them.