Drivetrain Gearbox, Diffs & Driveshafts etc

Dump valve on MY01 worth it?

Search this Thread

Old 29 January 2002, 12:32 PM
Mark.S
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question

Thinking of getting an Atmo dump valve fitted to my WRX MY01 next week by those nice chappies at TSL. Anyone have one fitted? What differences will I notice?
Cheers,
mark.
Old 29 January 2002, 12:36 PM
DjacK
Scooby Regular

No performace increase, just a nice Pshhhhhhhhttttt!
Old 29 January 2002, 12:54 PM
P1Fanatic
Scooby Regular

OK bear with me - Im a noob. AFAIK a dump walve is a device located near the wastegate to hold the boost pressure of the turbo up at high revs so that when you change gear you lose less pressure. If this is true how can it not improve performance or have I totally got the wrong end of the stick.

Is it also true that some turbo models (im interested specifically in the P1) have dump valves which are somewhat subdued by silencers which can be removed to get the full sound effects? Do dump valves usually tend to make any difference to insurance? And last but not least - is a blow off valve the same as a dump valve?
Old 29 January 2002, 01:56 PM
Jza
Scooby Regular

Id be very carefull with this fella's. Ive read reports of dump valves being a v bad idea!!!

Get a DP and UP and youll hear the whoosh anyway!!

Jza
Old 29 January 2002, 02:24 PM
DjacK
Scooby Regular

Ok, A dump valve does basically what you have said there P1fan.. It may make your turbo-lagg less noticable, but I wouldnt say it was a Performance upgrade.. Certain Dump valves can hold more pressure than say the standard Recirc Valve, so upgrading to one might have a benafit if you run higher boost..

There have been lots a threads on the pro's and con's of dump valves.. Most turbo cars have recirculation valves as standard.. These valves don't vent to atmoshphere so they don't make the pfffffshhhttt noise!