Drivetrain Gearbox, Diffs & Driveshafts etc

Automatic Trans Issues, 95 Impreza

Search this Thread

Old 21 August 2007, 08:33 PM
dashoveler
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Automatic Trans Issues, 95 Impreza

I have a AWD 95 Automatic Impreza that I swapped a 2.2l non-turbo into. After installing the new engine, the transmission no longer supplies power to the the wheels. I put it in drive, and I go no where, engine just revs when I get it gas. I suspect something wrong with the TQ converter. Here what I've done:

-Installed the weird sleeve that goes over the shaft input from the trans.
-Changed the trans fluid
-I noticed a little oil inside the middle of the TQ converter when I was mounting it on the engine.
-I studied a service manual and it looks like there are hydralic lines that go out the the TQ converter.

Any ideas why I'm not getting power to the wheels? I'm kind of new to auto transmissions.

Thanks!
Old 22 August 2007, 12:00 AM
dashoveler
Scooby Newbie

I've done more reading and I'm finding out that the sleeve that goes over the input shaft drives the oil pump inside the transmission. There might be an issure with the oil pump not being driven...
Old 22 August 2007, 09:40 PM
merlin24
Scooby Regular

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

You did actually bolt the torque convertor to the engine flex(drive) plate after you mated up the engine/transmission ??
Old 23 August 2007, 02:27 AM
dashoveler
Scooby Newbie

I realized I made the mistake of bolting the TQ converter to the engine before installing the engine. It looks like I should have mounted the TQ converter to the transmission first then mounted the engine, then bolted the TQ converter to the plate on the engine.
Old 23 August 2007, 02:32 AM
dashoveler
Scooby Newbie

Originally Posted by merlin24
You did actually bolt the torque convertor to the engine flex(drive) plate after you mated up the engine/transmission ??