My Wastegate doesn't seem to open

Search this Thread

Old 30 December 2001, 07:20 PM
James_PowerMad
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question

Hi Guys, Newbie here...

I've always been a tad power hungry when it comes to my cars, but I'm fairly sure that my MY98 is underpowered / not behaving as it should.

As an engineer, I take a keen interest in knowing how my car's turbo bits work, and have recently been wondering whether my boost pressure is anywhere near what it should be.

I have not yet found a pressure gauge to hook up to the system, so have been making other observations.

I first guessed that the signal to the valve that stops the wastegate opening (I think you call it the boost control valve) would tell me whether the boost was reaching its target, by being turned off by the ECU - hence allowing turbo pressure to open the WGate.

I observed that the ECU used a surprisingly fast PWM modulation to control this valve (considering it is a mechanical device), but when driven hard the level never drops very low (in terms of duty cycle). This made me suspect that the turbo may not be producing enough pressure to require limiting by the ECU.

I also observed that (when disconnected) the WG actuator required a surprising (to me) approx 1 bar of pressure to make it start to move (very large syringe, halving of volume). I would have expected it to actuate at a quite low pressure, and the excess then being allowed by the ECU opening the boost control valve for more of the time.

Anyways... Lots of speculation about PWM ratios etc... I really wanted to know whether the WG was opening much of the time (that would indicate that the boost was being controlled). I tried several arangements of wires and microswitches on springs, but in the end I just used a bit of v.thin wire and two bits of Blutack!

The WG actuator doesn't move a peep when driven hard (not for long enough to melt the Blutack luckily).