Type R Problems

Search this Thread

Old 12 July 2005, 01:14 PM
Nicky H
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Type R Problems

Hi

I have very recently got a V4 STI Type R. I am quite new to the 4wd thing, so i am sorry if this is a stupid question. My last car was a BMW M3 if this helps.

I have had problems when I have tried to get the car to oversteer, as you do, I have tried it in first and in 2nd. I did this in a simliar style to what i would do in the M3. with a bit of a flick, but i have some troubles, when you would be expected to start going the enigne just stops revving, and does not seem to happy with what you are doing. At the time the diff was set all the way to the rear. So i am not sure if this is a slipping clutch or what, it doesnt make sounds, just feels like a car that has traction control and is kicking in, as far as i knew i didnt think they had any. Does anyone know what is going on, other wise the car is fine, goes well in a straight as well as in the corners.

The only other issue that i have with it, is a random idle, it often idles at as low as well about 500, and feels like it is going to cut out. This is a new import from japan, so at this stage it has not been run much for about 2 or so mo im guessing. Could this be the source of all my problems?

Also if it helps, the car has, 17/215/40 tyres on it at the moment.
Old 12 July 2005, 01:28 PM
Power Junkie
Scooby Regular

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

Sounds like the MAF is on the way out, it would be worth getting a new Maf And Lambda sensor fitted.
Old 12 July 2005, 05:43 PM
tath
Scooby Regular

you are running it on optimax aren't you (preferable with a splash of octane boost as well)?
Old 12 July 2005, 05:56 PM
flat4_ire
Scooby Regular

Originally Posted by tath
you are running it on optimax aren't you (preferable with a splash of octane boost as well)?