Notices
Drivetrain Gearbox, Diffs & Driveshafts etc

Exhaust Downpipe Sensor on my JDM MY93 WRX ??

Search this Thread

Old 16 August 2004, 11:48 PM
CivicD
Scooby Regular

Location: On the other end of a Mobile Phone with GPRS...Thanks to Mr British Telecom..
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Exhaust Downpipe Sensor on my JDM MY93 WRX ??

After finding that my Downpipe on my MY93 Import WRX had more holes than a Tetly teabag I managed to get one tonight from a chap in Rugby. The problem I am now faced with is the sensor that is bolted into the downpipe, just below the cat area.
I assume this is the Lambda Sensor and think that this has failed as well with bad running and terrible fuel consumption below boost.

Can someone please tell me what this is exackly and where is the cheapest place to get one of these. Looking at the plug that is attached I can only see 2 pins.

Again I am assuming this is a 3 wire Lambda with the 3rd wired earthed through the DP.

I am totally new to Scoobies with this being my first and feel totally stupid for asking these questions.

SomeOne please help and advise as I am totally lost at the moment.

Regards & Thanks

Chris
Old 17 August 2004, 10:47 AM
Jolly Green Monster
Former Sponsor

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

The sensor at the bottom of the old downpipe is a cat on fire or cat working sensor.
it doesn't effect the running of the engine.

The lambda on the 93 is in the headers, so in the exhaust system before the turbo rather than after it in the downpipe. From about 96 or 95 onwards it is in the downpipe but right at the top.
If you new downpipe doesn't have the cat not working sensor hole then just removbe the sensor from the old down pipe and plug it in but not fit it into the downpipe and cable tie it up somewhere.