Advice on upgrading.

Search this Thread

Old 23 February 2004, 06:30 PM
MrClyfar
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Advice on upgrading.

Hi there.

I'm thinking of adding a couple of mods to my MY03 WRX STI. What I would like to do is add a blow-off valve and an Afterburner exhaust. I need something that will be easy to fit and remove.

Which valve do you guys recommend? I'm looking for something that it easy to fit and give's a great whoosh noise. Price range of about £150 to £200.

I'm tempted to get an Afterburner exhaust, since I hear that they are specially made to fit Subaru's. I'm not looking for any flame-throwers mind, just something that will boot the car about 30BHP'ish, with a nice idle noice and growl to match.

I'm a novice with these things, so I better check beforehand - what will I need to purchare with the exhaust? I hear that I might need a new centre section/back box? Can someone shed some light for me on this?

I saw a few items on the www.scoobyworld.co.uk site:

http://www.scoobyworld.co.uk/trolley...x.htm#baileydv
http://www.scoobyworld.co.uk/trolley...ex.htm#swninja

Which one of these would you recommend?

Thanks.
Jas.

Last edited by MrClyfar; 23 February 2004 at 08:40 PM.
Old 23 February 2004, 07:20 PM
greasemonkey
Scooby Regular

I'm thinking of adding a couple of mods to my MY03 WRX STI. What I would like to do is add a blow-off valve and an Afterburner exhaust. I need something that will be easy to fit and remove, just so that I don't void the warranty when I take the car in for servicing.
Er, you've got that a bit *rs* about face. It's modifying your car in the first place that invalidates the warranty. If something goes wrong with your car and you remove the mods before claiming on said warranty, you're committing fraud, which is an offence, and Subaru UK are investing more and more resources into investigating this sort of thing.

Which valve do you guys recommend?