Notices
Drivetrain Gearbox, Diffs & Driveshafts etc

Anyone changed their own clutch?

Search this Thread

Old 12 July 2001, 05:28 PM
Neil F
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Just thinking ahead, not urgent at the moment.
Any experiences/advice/procedures appreciated.

Neil.
Old 12 July 2001, 10:55 PM
David_Wallis
Scooby Regular

Location: Leeds - It was 562.4bhp@28psi on Optimax, How much closer to 600 with race fuel and a bigger turbo?
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Just doing one on a 94 5 dr uk turbo...

In my garage at home.... on axle stands... would never consider doing again... until I break my gearbox!....

No seriously... If you do it yourself just get the car somewhere flat, dry warm and get it as high as you can.. safely... It has taken a while as normally I buy a erm Haynes Manual... (Well Im a Server Support Engineer not a mechanic.. Lets see what a mechanic knows about IP Routing, NDS and Active Directory).... Even things like getting the driveshafts out of the box were awkward.. (loads of muck... and no concentration due to hangover..) At the moment my car is sat with the gearbox unbolted but I cant get the B%^$$%^d to come away from the engine... so I am finishing cutting off the old quarter panel and welding my new one on... should be done it a couple of weeks.. then its back to the b%$%rd clutch...

I would say though If you have the tools and you can manage without the car... two sober people could easily do it in possibly a day to a weekend...

mail me if you consider doing it and want more info or get stuck..

David
Old 13 July 2001, 03:27 PM
GraemeC
Scooby Regular

Thumbs up

David,

Sounds like you may not have released the clutch forks yet, that's why you are having problems.

Remove the starter motor and the blanking plate (grommit) in the gearbox casing that is hidden behind the starter. Screw in a 10mm bolt and then pull it to release the forks.