Notices
Drivetrain Gearbox, Diffs & Driveshafts etc

Difference between an air filter and an induction kit?

Search this Thread

Old 03 April 2003, 07:07 PM
Molds
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question

After MOT next month I am going for a decat downpipe and maybe up pipe to finish off exhaust system.

Also interested in an induction kit. At least I think thats what I want. I want my baby to roar into life.

Not really sure what the difference is though with changing the filter e.g. panel filter and a full induction kit (other than price)?

Don't want any MAF problems etc either as I am a crap mechanic!

Cheers

Matt

MY98 UK Turbo
Old 04 April 2003, 07:10 AM
RICH WILD
Scooby Regular

The MAF sensor will be fine on your car.

It's only the later 99-00 cars that have probs and even standard ones blow so I think people over-react a bit about MAF sensitivity and induction kits.

My mate has run a Blitz SUS on a MY00 for 2 years and never blown a MAF.

Basically, induction kit will get air in more freely. All the big power cars have induction kits. Panel filter is better if you want to keep the car fairly standard looking. Only disadvantage of an induction kit is in standing traffic it drags warmer air in from under the bonnet making the car a bit sluggish on set off, but once you are moving this difference goes.

Get an induction kit. They make a cool noise too.
I have a Blitz SUS (very low and easy maintainance) on a 97 car with an MRT high flow inlet pipe. Induction noise is awesome. Sounds like you could suck pedestrians off the kerb.

Mail me if you want more details/pics etc.

Cheers

Rich
Old 04 April 2003, 10:38 AM
Molds
Scooby Regular

Thumbs up

Thanks for the reply Rich.

YHM

Matt
Old 04 April 2003, 11:00 AM
Jay m A
Scooby Regular

Location: Class record holder at Pembrey Llandow Goodwood MIRA Hethel Blyton Curborough Lydden and Snetterton