Notices
Drivetrain Gearbox, Diffs & Driveshafts etc

STI 7 Boost Spikes

Search this Thread

Old 18 February 2003, 06:44 PM
Gevor
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Sorry if this topic has been discussed million of times, but I haven't been reading this forum recently.
I have a decatted STi 7 and was wondering if someone finally solved this problem? Is it the wastegate diameter or there's something else?

Nick
Old 19 February 2003, 12:59 AM
wacky.banana
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Thumbs up

Gevor,

Do a search, there's loads on this on here. IIRC you need to fit a new restrictor to the turbo, and get an electronic gizmo to get rid of the CEL. Search will give you more definite info on all this.

Please be careful; if you read some more you will see that there are stories on here of 7's blowing up with knackered pistons (most probably due to fuel leaning out). You may wish to consider remapping with the decat system in place to be safe.

However I am no expert and am going purely on memory.

Search it is!

WB
Old 19 February 2003, 11:47 AM
Gevor
Scooby Regular

Thanks a lot.
I tried searching already, but haven't found anything.
The problem is that I'm using an EBC and it doesn't help at all. The only aolution that I found was fitting the silencer that came with my Blitz NurSpec R. Did anyone try making the wastegate bigger? That's what causes the spikes I believe.

Nick
Old 19 February 2003, 12:23 PM
wacky.banana
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Wink

Gevor,

You are not looking hard enough! Try these:

http://www.scoobynet.co.uk/bbs/thread.asp?ThreadID=122929
http://www.scoobynet.co.uk/bbs/thread.asp?ThreadID=133466
http://www.scoobynet.co.uk/bbs/thread.asp?ThreadID=86426
http://www.scoobynet.co.uk/bbs/thread.asp?ThreadID=95477
http://www.scoobynet.co.uk/bbs/thread.asp?ThreadID=79018
http://www.scoobynet.co.uk/bbs/thread.asp?ThreadID=154168

Old 19 February 2003, 02:29 PM
EMS
Scooby Regular

Nick,