Notices
Computer & Technology Related Post here for help and discussion of computing and related technology. Internet, TVs, phones, consoles, computers, tablets and any other gadgets.

I need some advice about wireless routers, set up and best model ?

Search this Thread

Old 28 November 2007, 06:38 PM
Borat_Drives_A_Scooby
BANNED

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I need some advice about wireless routers, set up and best model ?

I am not an expert when it comes to PC`s and routers so i need a bit of advice, i currently have a D-Link router with ethernet cable and i want to change to a wireless router mainly because of the problem of the cables in a newly decoprated house as i don`t want cables everywhere.

Firstly can you tell me if i need any special cards to put in my laptop which is a Toshiba Satellite Pro A30 so that it recognises the wireless router or does the card or usb connection come with the router ?

Secondly will the main pc in the house need any special card as well to recognise the wireless router, sorry for the basic questions but i really have no idea how these wireless routers work.

Will a wireless router greatly affect my broadband speed as ive read somewhere that you lose speed, if so how much speed will you lose from a 4 meg connection ?

Lastly and not least, which wireless router would you recommend, its for a main pc and a laptop ?
Old 28 November 2007, 10:02 PM
Dee NI
Scooby Regular