Notices
Computer & Technology Related Post here for help and discussion of computing and related technology. Internet, TVs, phones, consoles, computers, tablets and any other gadgets.

network project

Search this Thread

Old 19 January 2007, 09:57 AM
minxy69
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question network project

hey all need some advice. I am an it technician but dont actually deal in the networking side of things so when someone asks me a question i might just be able to get away with it!

Anyways one of my clients has a business which is based at 3 different sights. They have 3 directors who share one laptop as its never needed more than one director at a time. They currently have stmpbeamer running there mail (a cheap version of ms exchange server!) they have cisco routers at each of their sights. The laptop has the vpn client installed. what they want to do is be able to pick up their e-mails from anywhere in the world for instance and also transfer and pick up their files from the server whilst they are working at home and on the laptop abroad for e.g. I contacted stmpbeamer and the current version of their software doesnt allow them to have a web based mail sight. They have told me to upgrade the software which is a free download. Not a problem. However they are being slightly awkward in that they want to still be able to pick up their contacts and diraies etc through outlook. Can this be done with the current stmpbeamer or will they be better off buying ms exchange server and use terminal services to gain access to their files and folders etc.

Like i said before am quite technically minded but when it comes to networks I only know the basis of them.

Also if ms exchange was needed what other hardware/software would i need to make it work! ?

Thanks in advance
Old 19 January 2007, 10:31 AM
TopBanana
Scooby Regular

There are plenty of companies who would be happy to come in and talk to you about this. I suggest you get someone in.