Notices
Computer & Technology Related Post here for help and discussion of computing and related technology. Internet, TVs, phones, consoles, computers, tablets and any other gadgets.

connecting to xbox live for dummies

Search this Thread

Old 07 December 2005, 04:55 PM
RB5SCOTT
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question connecting to xbox live for dummies

I'm a complete novice at this online malarky so have'nt got a clue about the first thing to do when i eventually get my 360 how do i connect it up???

Does it run through my internet connection from my computer?

Does it just plug into my phoneline and run itself ( thus having 2 connections, computer/xbox

Do i have to sycronise it with my computer?

Can i have a dummies explanation please

Last edited by RB5SCOTT; 07 December 2005 at 05:33 PM.
Old 07 December 2005, 05:46 PM
Markus
Scooby Regular

Hi Scott,
If it's anything like the original xbox then it's got an ethernet port on it, so you'd plug a standard ethernet cable into it and then connect it to... Well, that depends on what your home network is like.

From the sounds of things you've got a dsl modem/router, which is connected to the phone line and then your computer via ethernet. Now if that is all you have got, well, unless you want to unplug the computer and plug the xbox in when you want to use Live, you'll need a few things.

Probably the most simple solution would be to get a little four port network hub. What you then do is connect the ethernet cable from the DSL modem into the hub, then have a cable from the comptuer to the hub and from the xbox to the hub. you'd then enable "internet connection sharing" on your PC.

At which point, in theory, when the PC is on (and it'll need to be on when the xbox is online) the xbox will go through the pc and share the internet connection.