Notices
Computer & Technology Related Post here for help and discussion of computing and related technology. Internet, TVs, phones, consoles, computers, tablets and any other gadgets.

Web Design Help - Complete Novice !!

Search this Thread

Old 14 April 2005, 12:19 AM
03-CTR
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Web Design Help - Complete Novice !!

can anyone help me with a page that i'm designing using dreamweaver mx ??

i've used a css template to produce a page that i've duplicated about a dozen times to produce a site. the menus are constant on every page but there are a series of links that i plan on changing on a regular basis i.e. for news items.

being a complete novice however (been using dreamweaver for 3 weeks) i've now realised that i'm going to have to edit every single page whenever i want to amend these links. i've read that it may be possible to setup a database (where the links are entered) so that each page displays an entry from a corresponding cell but have a few questions.

1. will this dynamic stuff work on a page using css?
2. will i need a full blown copy of coldfusion to do this properly or will the 'create new coldfusion' option on dreamweaver enable me to do this?
3. is there a simpler way to achieve the same result?
4. if not how do i go about achieving this in laymans terms? (didn't find the help very user friendly )

many thanks in advance
Old 14 April 2005, 07:32 AM
Soulgirl
Scooby Regular

There are lots of freeware proggies out there that you can use that do 'search and replace' on entire folders etc. However, as the number of changed links aren't going to be that many it may be better to edit them individually.

I don't know enough about CSS to answer your other queries... in fact, I know nothing at all LOL. There is a guy here that does though so I bet he will pop in soon
Old 14 April 2005, 08:08 AM
boxst
Scooby Regular

Hello