Notices
Computer & Technology Related Post here for help and discussion of computing and related technology. Internet, TVs, phones, consoles, computers, tablets and any other gadgets.

Dumb questions about PDAs

Search this Thread

Old 14 January 2005, 08:31 AM
AndyC_772
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Dumb questions about PDAs

Looks like I've opened a can of worms by deciding to get sat nav for the car. I figure it makes sense to get one that I can use for as much other stuff as possible too, but the choice out there is bewildering and as I've never used one before, it's over to you guys...

- I see that I have a choice of CPU type as well as speed, memory, display and interfaces. Does the CPU I choose limit my choice of applications, or are they all software compatible at the end of the day?

- Lots of them claim to have 802.11b and MP3 playback capability. Does that mean I can use them to play back streaming internet radio? Who makes the software? Is it built in?

- What's the current thinking on the spec I should go for in terms of CPU speed and memory? Are they all realistically 'fast enough', or is it worth paying a bit extra for a better spec?

- (really dumb question): for those of you who actually have a PDA and use it on a daily basis, what do you actually use it for? I figure there's no point having a gadget that can theoretically do hundreds of things if they're all useless in practise. If none of the other capabilities actually interest me, I may as well just get the cheapest one that'll do the sat nav stuff.

Cheers
Andy
Old 14 January 2005, 10:58 AM
Pumpkin
Scooby Senior

I have an O2 XDA ii. Its a PDA with an embedded phone, so only one gadget to carry round.

I use it for:
- phoning...
- diary / reminders
- phone book
- note pad

- with cabled GPS receiver and Tom Tom, a portable sat nav system, whilst using bluetooth headset