Notices
Engine Management and ECU Remapping This section is to discuss the various aspects of engine management modification for your Subaru.

Help boost levels!!

Search this Thread

Old 26 March 2015, 11:12 PM
Bugeye01jack
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help boost levels!!

hi guys,
I am a newbie to the scooby world.
Bought myself a 2001 bug eye wrx last weekend and I am after a bit of advice..

The car has an apexi AVC-r boost controller and as far as I can see from full boost its at 1.2 bar and drops off and holds about 1.0bar.
Now I know your all gonna say that it's pretty much standard! But that's not going to help much haha

Now I am told by the last owner it has a TD05 Turbo in it. Now I don't know how I can tell this. So taking his word for it.
So if we assume worst case scenario that I'm running standard TD04 - would my boost levels be safe ..?
Bearing in mind that again, as far as I am aware and been told- I am running completely standard fuel pump and injectors... :/ ? Also the inter cooler doesn't look bigger either (would have thought if it was TD05 it would need bigger inter cooler ?)
It seems pretty standard in the sense that it's still got cat on it and just a receipt for a rear silencer so standard exhaust setup bar the backbox.
Only other engine alteration is HKS blow off valve and different hoses.

Am keen for some feedback as I am anxious that the engine/components are in danger
Thanks.
Jack
Old 26 March 2015, 11:19 PM
DutchKev
Scooby Regular

Standard boost iirc for wrx is either 0.5 or 0.7 bar standard, 1.2'is to much for a standard car and can cause all sorts of internal hurt. Id reccomend lowering the boost down asap as iirc some sti onlynrun 0.9 bar on a ihi vf

If it is a td05 then it will state it on the turbo housing
Old 26 March 2015, 11:32 PM
Bugeye01jack
Scooby Newbie

Okay well that confirms my worries. I will double check the housing though. Will it hAve a part number or will it specify td04/05.