Notices
Wheels, Tyres & Brakes

Help needed: info on warped Prodrive/Alcons

Search this Thread

Old 10 May 2002, 01:04 PM
kryten
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I'd be interested to hear from anyone who has had a problem with their Prodrive/Alcons warping, or where the discs/pads have needed to be replaced after an unreasonably short timescale (eg < 5000 miles) and whether it was replaced under warranty.

I've had a disputed warranty claim on-going for almost a year now and could do with input from anyone who's also had problems.
Old 10 May 2002, 01:50 PM
ozzy
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Kryten,

I've no real-life experience of the Prodrive disk upgrades, but my old Dealer told me @ the 7500mile service that my std discs were warped and had small hairline cracks. They had no problems replacing them under warranty.

I think you'd have a fight getting the pads replaced, but if the discs have warped then I don't see why not.

Unless they can prove or feel you didn't bed them in properly - how they could tell, I don't know

And, more to the point, did they tell you how to do this properly?

Stefan

Old 15 May 2002, 12:57 PM
kryten
Scooby Regular

The bedding in instructions aren't brilliant eg they don't say how long it should take to slow from 70-30mph (3 seconds, 10 seconds?).

However, the only reason given by Subaru is 'the car has been used on a track'.
Old 15 May 2002, 01:37 PM
chiark
Scooby Regular

Martin

"How do they know that" ? (sorry...)

This is the same subaru that takes their customers to a track to launch the P1, the STI, the UK300, ... ?

Does the warranty on the brakes specifically exclude track use? if it doesn't, I'd argue that you should be able to expect to use the car on a track...

Good luck with this. Not sure I've helped at all, but good luck all the same
Old 15 May 2002, 01:48 PM
kryten
Scooby Regular