Brake pad issue!

Search this Thread

Old 23 May 2015, 08:12 PM
Kassim
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Brake pad issue!

Hello all,

I am new to the scooby community. I have bought a scooby 2 weeks ago. My front pads needed doing, so I popped in to euro car parts, and was adviced to buy pagid front pads. I got them fitted and after about 40 mins or so of driving, I started reversing the car and everytime I brake there is an extremely loud squeel, sometimes if I am driving and coming to a halt it squeel but not so loud and apparent as when in reverse.

Now I asked around they said "cheap pads do that" so I went to a workshop and got them changed again, to see if it helps. This time the workshop put in Textar pads. I got out of the workshop and same thing 30 mins later boom same loud squeel in reverse.

So if I change the pads again to something like EBC and it happens again, I am just wasting money, which I don't have very much off due to the recent car purchase.

I really don't know what it could be. Can someone please advice. I actually extremely sad!!!

Just to add, on inspecting the pagid pads there is some chipping. Do you think euro car parts will refund me my money as I purchased them on their recommendation.

Last edited by Kassim; 23 May 2015 at 08:15 PM.
Old 23 May 2015, 09:00 PM
daviee
Scooby Regular

My Mintex 1155 did the exact same ok forwards but squeal going backwards. Just fitted Brembo brake pads today and they squeal going backwards too I fitted them with correct stainless shims and smothered in pad goo and copper slip, I just live with it. I think it's just the dust. Still bedding in see how they settle in 200 miles or so.
Old 23 May 2015, 09:54 PM
Kassim
Scooby Regular

Thanks for the reply Davie. Does your squeel make people look around, or is it a subtle noise. Mine sounds like a bus braking. I was going to go down to shin route too. But if you had no luck then no point for me to try.
Old 23 May 2015, 10:00 PM
daviee