Notices

1st Time Scooby - Help needed in Cardiff

Search this Thread

Old 05 January 2012, 11:40 PM
Pricey
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1st Time Scooby - Help needed in Cardiff

I am new to SN and am looking to get my first scooby soon. I have seen this one advertised, looks good, but I dont know if this is good value or to be avoided? Any advice would be great.

DWP
http://www.pistonheads.com/sales/2167554.htm
Old 06 January 2012, 06:41 AM
Cannon Fodder
Scooby Regular

There's a few things that bother me about that car:

The turbo used would no way ever get anywhere near the 500bhp claimed.

The gearbox would destroy itself pretty quickly as 22B gearbox or not the classic gearboxes cannot handle that power would sh1tting themselves within a very short time.

I'm sure there are other factors as well but that is what concerns me after just a quick read.
Old 06 January 2012, 06:44 AM
Cannon Fodder
Scooby Regular

Oh and the brakes, no mention of them being uprated if it is running 500bhp I wouldn't trust the standard brakes; if you spend thousands of £'s on the engine then why not fit Brembo / AP Racing or similar braking components?
Old 06 January 2012, 08:36 AM
Pricey
Scooby Regular

Thanks CF.

I did ask about the brakes and they are standard all around. What sort of value would you roughly say for a suitable turbo (fitted) and upgraded brakes? would you say the car looks like a decent one for themoney with these bits sorted out?

The actual car has done 77K kilometers with the engine doing 3000 as in the advert.

Thanks again.
Old 06 January 2012, 09:50 AM
The Trooper 1815
18 June 1815 - Waterloo

Received 14 Likes on 12 Posts

Originally Posted by dwittsprice
Thanks CF.

I did ask about the brakes and they are standard all around. What sort of value would you roughly say for a suitable turbo (fitted) and upgraded brakes? would you say the car looks like a decent one for themoney with these bits sorted out?