Notices

Bilstein and Eibach

Search this Thread

Old 03 December 2000, 07:51 PM
MarkF
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I've been threatening to do it for two years (since I got the car) but due to a failing shock absorber in my 93 WRX, I have been forced to buy some Bilstein struts and Eibach springs. I know about having to modify the existing KYB strut bodies, which isn't really a problem (or is it? Anyone done it?) I fully expect a harder ride but I was wondering just how hard can I expect? If anyone has any experience of this please let me know.
Cheers, Mark
Old 05 December 2000, 09:56 AM
Squizz
Scooby Regular

Thumbs up

Mark,
I've got an MY99 with the Bilstein/Eibach (Prodrive). Standard 16" wheels and tyres. Firm, but compliant ride and makes the car look better and gives slightly less body-roll and feels more solid.

I chose to have it fitted as an option having test driven a standard MY98.

Go for it.

Regards,
Squizz.
Old 08 December 2000, 08:19 AM
Erik
Scooby Regular

Question

Are Eibach Pro kit springs same as Prodive use in Bilst/Eib. kit? I have read about only diference is special Bilstein strut.
Old 09 December 2000, 05:21 PM
MarkF
Scooby Regular

The bilsteins are on! The only problem is that when the strut top is cut off to allow the new inserts to be fitted, the brass guide does not tightly fit inside the strut body. I have managed to get them to fit by bending in the top of the strut body so that the threads will tighten up but i'm not convinced that this is the best solution. The guide only serves to prevent lateral movement so it does not take much vertical pressure. Does anyone have any solutions? Maybe different guides? I looked into getting the guides tack welded but noone can do it because of the dissimilair metals (brass/mild steel)and the closeness of the inserts seals. Any advice greatly appreciated.
PS The billys and eibachs are GREAT, not too hard but wow, what a difference!
Old 11 December 2000, 02:33 PM
MikeWood