Help please

Search this Thread

Old 05 October 2013, 05:47 PM
stu2309
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help please

Hi guys

Im soon to be joining the scooby club with a blobeye sti widetrack hopefully..

Just a few questions about the car really..

Are there any concerns with any parts (ie common faults) on the car and what do u think the output/stats would be if I added a full exhaust system with decats, k&n typhoon, fmic, uprated fuel injectors, remap and setup.

If theres anything else I should be including in these upgrades the comments will be grately appreciated as im new to all this crack

Thanks alot for your time

Stu
Old 05 October 2013, 05:55 PM
Turbotits
Scooby Regular

If your sticking with the standard turbo id keep the o/e top mount and forget the front mount imo. Standard sti injectors also ok for the vf 35 and an induction kit isnt needed. But i would add a fuel pump
Old 05 October 2013, 05:59 PM
thenewgalaxy
Scooby Regular

Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts

The "search" function should show up some longer answers to your questions, but...

Common faults tend to be related to wear and tear or abuse. Make sure you pick up a car that has been maintained and serviced properly, run only on 98RON or above fuel etc.

Rear shocks knock and some of these cars may have some rust on them. There have been some minor concerns levelled at the gearboxes though I have never personally come across one or know of one that's gone bang. Just make sure whatever car you take out has a smooth action, bit like a rifle bolt and doesn't whine.

Engines, pretty tough really. Check for knocking of the main bearing and any dodgy turbo sounds.

If you come across a car with dodgy service history, invasive mods without a remap, eBay dump valves etc I'd avoid.

With the setup you mention you should reliably see high 300s in power and torque (BHP/lbft) but I would personally be reluctant to push it beyond that without forged bearings, connecting rods and pistons.