Aloha..

Search this Thread

Old 02 February 2012, 10:58 AM
ClapTrap
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Aloha..

Greetings people.

Just joined the site so thought i'd start by saying hi.

Also, would like to pick your brains for a moment..

I'm currently a Civic Type R, Ep3 owner and like many others i'm looking to upgrade.
I've got about 15k to spend and wondering what model would be the best suited to me. Pretty much set on an Sti but not sure whether to go for the 07 hawkeye or the newer 08 onwards model. Have read a few bad things about the 08+ model engines.. I'm not going to be doing any radical modifications but i'm not against buying one that has sensible mods already. I'll be using it as my main car but i don't have to worry about driving to work or anything so it's almost like a weekend car.. or as it states on insurance docs; social, domestic and pleasure only!

I'm not a newbie to jap performance cars but would appreciate some current owners advice as in my opinion there is nothing like it.

Obviously there will be a few different opinions but the more advice and opinions the better.

Many thanks in advance
Old 02 February 2012, 11:14 AM
oldman-wrx
Scooby Regular

Part of it will obviously be your preference on the body styles. your budget should get you a very,very nice Sti Hawkeye you will need to read the threads on the benefit over JDM as opposed to UK STI they each have pluses (I have uk STI Hawk and yes sadly love the burble)
More and more after hating the Hatch are now comming round to liking them. believe those that have actualy been in them like the drive. Read the threads on the Hatch engine prob to do with 2.5 the JDM 2.0 Hatch does not suffer this.
Im sure those with more technical knowledge will be along soon.

agree go for an STI had a blob eye wrx before this loved it but they are chalk and cheese in comparison

Im sure you will enjoy the scooby whichever you plumb for. they are adictive
Old 02 February 2012, 04:58 PM