Notices
ScoobyNet General General Subaru Discussion
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Scooby noob here - engine mileage a problem?

Search this Thread

Old 06 June 2010, 02:40 PM
muttleyturbo
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Scooby noob here - engine mileage a problem?

Last edited by muttleyturbo; 07 August 2013 at 01:33 AM.
Old 06 June 2010, 02:54 PM
madmerlin
Scooby Regular

TBH m8 it dont work like that, as with any engine, its how its treated during its life.... I know of people who have had scoobies with 120 / 130k on the clock, that were still running as sweet as a nut have aslo known a few cars with sub 80k that are total dogs.
In answer to your question, if the car is treated right, warmed up properly etc and always had regular oil / filter change + servicing then they should last for many years...
I would check carefully all documents / receipts for servicing record, and grill the owner as to how he treats it, If all boxes look to be ticked then seriously consider it, and dont be put off by high millage.
Old 06 June 2010, 03:20 PM
The Zohan
Scooby Regular

Mileage is not always an accurate indiactor of how long they will last. Some scoobs will go for 200k without any serious engine work.

at 90k or so look towards clutch and drivetrain & suspension as well, look for a thick wad of receipts for work carried out and see what has been done, you might pick up a 100k miles car with a decent recon engine on sub10k miles on it.

Steer away from cars with a lot of owners and also cars who's owners have had the car a few months and decided to sell unless you really believe their motivation to sell and the car comes with tonnes of history and the owner seems real honest. Avoid cars with cheapo tyres, etc. if the rubber has been skimpt on then likely the service work too.

finally avoid cars that have been tracked, this really does put a strain on just about everything. Look for signs of damage and abuse and a lack of love and care.