Notices
ScoobyNet General General Subaru Discussion
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

pls stop me worring .when does the fan kick in on a scooby ? running temp question .

Search this Thread

Old 05 June 2008, 08:27 PM
woodz77
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default pls stop me worring .when does the fan kick in on a scooby ? running temp question .

right , as you can see from my post count im new to the scooby world. and i need to know some basic things just to stop me worrying .

right ,the car in question is my R reg UK 2.0L turbo. got usually mods like stainless exhaust , FMIC , sti ecu . as for power i think its pretty standard.

so , how quick do they get up to temp ? and where should the needle sit ?

mine gets to temp quite quick , 5 mins . it might be normal for a scooby but this is my first one and none of my mates have had them so i cant really ask for previous experience .

i reckon it sits just under half way .

now the worry i have is it runs fine , but i havent heard the fan kick in once ?

so how does the temp get half way and then sit there with no problems for all the time im driving it or if it sits in traffic for 5mins , then how can it sit at a steady temp with out the fan running ?

ive also found a badly joined wire that goes underneath the top half of the engine (the banana shape bit) on the right and then has a plug on the end that clips on to a point right in the middle of the engine at the front ,again just under neath the top half of the engine . . i tryed taping up the 2 ends that are already joined and couldnt really get to it properly .

but when i then went out in it the fan was running and the CHECK ENGINE light came on and kept going off and then coming on at irregular moments .