SOME ADVICE NEEDED

Search this Thread

Old 03 October 2006, 03:58 PM
CoolCurly
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default SOME ADVICE NEEDED

Hi Chaps and Chappettes,

Newbie here to the scoobie world and Im after a little advice....

Im being offered a 2004 Subaru "Wagon" WRX with 30k miles and full service history. I know the car has been used for the past year for the school run and has been kept in very good condition.

Im going to look at it properly on Wednesday night and want to know what to look out for - I know the owner anyway, so I know he will not be trying to put one over on me (I'll burn his new M5 if he did ) but want to know if there is anything I should look out for...

Im going to be selling my very immaculate 25th Anniversary Golf for this puppy and will be looking for some "subtle" mods at a later date - induction, exchaust, remap - but for now just want to know what im to look out for.

cheers guys - Im learning fast about the world of Subaru fairly fast, just not fast enough!
Old 03 October 2006, 05:35 PM
CoolCurly
Scooby Newbie

No advice from ANYone????

Pleaseeeeeeeeeeee!!??
Old 03 October 2006, 05:47 PM
WHEELSHOP0_0
Scooby Regular

Just check the obvious things,with that age and miles the condition should be very good,things like wheels/tyres for kerbing ,poor wear patterns etc. Kids run cars tend to get bumped and banged over kerbs/speedhumps look for obvious damage/uneven wear can mean tracking probs. Check the history can be substantiated and was anything unexpected done other than routine servicing.
If the car has never been bumped check for any fresh/new paint(accident damage),check underbonnet for cleanliness, should be clean but not cleaned(hiding something?). General wear and tear(dirt) is ok but there should be no obvious worn sections g/****, s/wheel, pedals etc.
Your first impression is usually the right one if it is good keep looking if its bad think very carefully. Good luck.
Old 03 October 2006, 05:52 PM
Scooby Senior