Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Scoob n00b...model advice, please!

Search this Thread

Old 11 September 2005, 02:07 PM
Micky_C
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Scoob n00b...model line up, please?!

Hi everyone,

I'm new to Scoobynet but have been into cars for a few years now and on several other car clubs.

I'm considering purchasing a scooby myself but not sure what to go for; it's pretty darn confusing! I think i'm looking for an earlier model (~1992-2002??) but have no idea what is what!

There's a Turbo, a WRX, an STi, Type R, Type RA, Type V, Catalunya, McRae Special, RB5, P1, 22B, 555 WRC...the list goes on!

Could anyone give me a brief overview of each model with what u get, why its better than another, what power they have out the box and (most importantly?) which were UK cars, EU-imports or Jap imports? I'm 21 so i wont be able to afford the insurance on anything overly fancy or imported, but would like to know about them all the same!

Thanks very much in advance-and any pics would be great too! 8)

Last edited by Micky_C; 11 September 2005 at 02:15 PM.
Old 11 September 2005, 02:20 PM
Trap2Terrorist
Scooby Regular

A lot depends on how much money you're prepared to spend. I've got a 2001 'bugeye' WRX, better build quality and extras than the classics (pre-2001) but perhaps less of a raw drivers car. It cost just under £10k last May (private sale), with 24k on the clock, totally standard, FSSH.

The bugeye appears to be slightly underpowered compared to other models/years and is fairly heavy at ~1400kgs.

That said, it is a GREAT car and with a few performance tweaks should have everything I need (at least until I trade her in for an STi in a couple of years ).

Extras include: aircon, drivers/passenger/side airbags, power steering, ABS, EBD, 17" alloys, single CD player (crap standard head unit), Momo steering wheel, drilled metal pedals.

Last edited by Trap2Terrorist; 11 September 2005 at 02:28 PM.
Old 11 September 2005, 02:34 PM