Search this Thread

Old 01 January 2015, 02:50 PM
STiHunter
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie Widetrack Blobeye STi

Hi All,

Just a newbie here introducing myself,
I'm Ryan from South Wales, & I've just bought myself a Crystal Grey Widetrack Blobeye STi with DCCD.
It's my first Impreza, and to be honest I didn't even consider buying one until I noticed this one advertised, I was on the lookout for a Focus ST, or a MKV Golf GTI, but I did an insurance check and the STi was less than £350 a year and that's at age 26! (only £100 a year more than my previous 1.8 140bhp Civic!)
The only pic I have so far is this one from the dealers (too rainy outside to take any better pics)

The dealer removed the fogs and replaced with the standard STi covers (this confused me at first as I wasn't aware that the STis came without Fogs!)
The car looks pretty standard, the only thing I can see is that it has a Prodrive backbox (not sure if the whole system is Prodrive).
The car pulls like nothing I'd ever experienced! I'd never driven or even been inside an Impreza before so I have nothing to compare it to. The closest I've experienced (used loosely) is a Clio 172 that I owned before the Civic, but this is in another league!
The cars on 64k with a full service history, Cambelt/Tensioner/Water Pump done in 2011 on 47k, with a mound of receipts for engine/gear/diff oil changes.
The only issue I have so far is that while accelerating or maintaining constant speed, there seems to be a bit of a judder/splutter (nothing too noticeable) but I think it's because I put a few quid of BP Ultimate in just to get to a place that had better fuel (it's now filled to the brim with Tesco Momentum99 so I'll update after a few tank fulls as I'm hoping this issue will disappear)
If anyone has any info on the car, or is possibly a previous owner, the reg ends in "OMM"