Projects For Serious DIY Car Projects

Older 87-89 Subaru GL

Search this Thread

Old 30 July 2006, 04:45 PM
Anticamper
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Older 87-89 Subaru GL

basicly i have a 87-89 subaru GL. not sure the exact year but i can get it soon. anyways i know its not a goddly WRX, but i want to know what i can do to this car in terms of performance. i am completely new to automotive stuff. but yea a few questions:

i was wondering is it even possible to put a newer engine. i belive someone mentioned an ej20 to me? i dunno

also the car has 4wd, what would it take(time and money) to make this AWD? Is it even possible?

realy would it be worth the money to try and revive an older subaru?

i realy would love to take an old nothing car, and make it into something. i would love to completely gut the car and put lots of new stuff in it but i am not sure of its capibilities. My father is a machanic so he can help with anything realy hard but, i am a complete newb to Auto stuff so be gentle ^___^

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2381512

this is almost the same as far as mine. my dad is a machanic and he tells me its a boxer type and from what i gather so is this ej20. so it should fit right?
Old 01 August 2006, 01:18 PM
Anticamper
Scooby Newbie

well it seems that no one can help me with this...

i have looked at some prices for engines and couldn't find many sites. the prices i found were so pricey i am considering just buying say a 99 wrx? any thoughts on it?
Old 01 August 2006, 02:21 PM
scoobiestu
Scooby Regular

to be frankly honest buy the wrx. it will cost a packet to make that car handle 200+bhp and at the end of the day will still look a turd!

save your cash and buy a impreza
Old 02 August 2006, 08:16 PM
16vmarc
Scooby Regular

I say go for it! Would be an awesome car when finished. Theres loads of people on here that can give you advice, sorry I'm not one of them!
Old 02 August 2006, 08:55 PM
deanwoodward
Scooby Regular

Thumbs up