Projects For Serious DIY Car Projects

RetroPug's Blobeye WRX

Search this Thread

Old 30 December 2018, 11:19 AM
RetroPug
Scooby Regular

Received 36 Likes on 27 Posts
Default RetroPug's Blobeye WRX

New member & impreza owner in Hinckley, Leicestershire. I've seen a few other imprezas driving around here so maybe some are on this forum?

Anyway, I've been dreaming of owning a blue blob eye impreza for many, many years and now I've finally bought one. [color=left=#333333]Totally unmodified other than a scoobyworld racebox rear silencer because the original needed replacing by the previous owners, 89k miles, FSH, nearly 12months MOT and in the right colour. Unfortunately I'm not driving it yet- still in the old daily Fiesta 1.6 tdci for now. However I've obviously test-driven it and driven it a fair way home from buying it, plus on local roads a bit. Eventually that'll start being used by my gf and the impreza will be my daily. Just waiting for the insurance to run out on the fiesta and starting afresh on the impreza later in January to avoid admin fees and get another year of NCB etc. for the sake of a few weeks and let my finances recover from both Christmas and buying the car & parts.

Due to life getting in the way over the festive period I haven't touched the car much other than starting it, rolling it about and letting it get up to temperature. However I have been spending £s and accumulating parts in the background over the past few weeks, including:
  • full cambelt kit and waterpump (dayco belt, all bearings same as OE but not bought from Subaru, much cheaper!)
  • Millers oil
  • Genuine Subaru oil filter
  • Coolant
  • NGK iridium spark plugs
  • Cabin filter
  • Bosch Fuel filter
  • Thermostat (think also genuine from memory)
  • Milltek De-Res Centre section 2nd hand
  • Centre Decat link pipe (not fitting yet)
  • STI Spoiler on a bootlid
  • Replacement gearknob, stereo surround, cup holder and boot carpet as mine are all tatty