Notices
Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Any building surveyors in the house??

Search this Thread

Old 05 November 2013, 04:26 PM
BLU
Scooby Regular

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Any building surveyors in the house??

I need to know if something is acceptable on my new house. Its a problem with some external damp brickwork - I have opened up a dispute with NHBC (useless c**ts) and they say there is no defect and my problem is cosmetic, however I'm not convinced
Old 05 November 2013, 06:08 PM
dukeoffenland
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm a architect mate do a bit of surveying Aswell

Have you got anything against the wall with damp ? Like a raised planter or an adjoining part of the house

Pics would be good
Old 05 November 2013, 08:46 PM
Aaron1978
Scooby Regular

As above, pictures would be useful. External brickwork will get damp as (obviously) it'll get rained on. Is there some sort of patch/area appearing above your DPC? Do you have any weep holes in your brickwork, they will look like a plastic drain about 75mm high and around 10mm wide placed in the mortar joint. Could be that there is some sort of cavity tray and these weep holes are blocked. Who was the house builder and how old is the house (guessing less than 10yrs old).
Old 05 November 2013, 09:20 PM
BLU
Scooby Regular

Yes there is a few patches above dpc. NHBC seem to think this is ok
Nothing against the wall.. The damp is on an external staircase - the DPC is in the form of cascade trays with a weep hole at the end of each one.

I'll pop pics up when photobucket is back up (site maintenance) as its difficult to explain without!!

Housebuilder is a local Welsh company, Anwyl. The house is only 23 months old, the damp has been there since day one and all the other houses of the same type seem to have the same problem
Old 05 November 2013, 10:01 PM
PaulC72
Scooby Regular