Search this Thread

Old 02 June 2006, 12:31 PM
J4CKO
Scooby Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 24 hour Free IT support line !

Caution, Rant to follow......

Has anyone else become one of these ?

Because I work in IT (Databases) I have become the local IT support, firends family and even mates of freinds and family.

This week I have migrated a old pc to a new one and set up a wireless network, so that was Tuesday night gone and Last night as well, these jobs never go 100% to plan or transform into several other jobs, suffice to say I didnt get home last night until 8.30 pm having left that morning at 7 am for proper work, then left at 4.30 for my 'voluntary work'.

Neighbours turn up with printers, scanners, MP3 players etc, I can come home to find a P3 pc, keyboard, monitor and mouse all piled up in the hall and my missus says, of such and such brought that round for you to 'have a look at', so I set the steaming pile of poo up and then spend 4 hours getting rid of dialers, trojans, virus's, spyware, adware etc etc, bung some spare ram in, put the latest drivers on, for NOTHING, four hours that I could be doing revision, exercise, fixing my own pc, Xbox, spending timewith the missus (steady on there) but no, I am farting about with a 10 year old computer worth 5p that has been abused, no firewall, no virus scanner and worst of all Windows 98, then to cap it all when you suggest that they should possibly think about spending 299 quid on a new one they agree and bestow their old kit on you (once you have transferred everything) , whoop de do, a P3 with a CRT monintor (that they were going to sell but its ok, you can have it), so I get to take the bloody thing to the tip as well, I have no been blessed with donations of three Lexmark printers with no ink, I wouldnt want them if they had 10 spare cartridges. Next pc that turns up is going to be skipped without looking at it.