Non Scooby Related Anything Non-Scooby related

Beware black cabs in London

Search this Thread

Old 20 October 2002, 10:18 PM
Jerome
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry

On Friday night, my girfiend and I hailed a black cab from Covent Garden. We gave our destination to the cab driver (a restaurant) and off we went. I should point out that my gf is Canadian. As the cabbie heard what he thought was an American accent, he proceeded to take us past Buckingham Palace. I have lived in the area for 2 years and my gf 9 years. Buckingham Palace is NOT on the way, so we asked the cabbie why we were going the way we were. He replied "How long have you been living here?". My gf replied "9 years". He replied "I've been a cab driver for 17 years and this is the way we are taught to go on The Knowledge" - in a particularly condescending and unpleasant tone. Having done this journey many many times in a black cab, we know it is quicker - and cheaper - to go another way. My gf was incensed at this drivers attitude and, as we neared the restaurant we were heading for, voiced (in no uncertain terms) that we were only paying £7 (the meter was reading £8.50) which is what the fare should have been. I know this is a small difference, but we are both sick to the back teeth of rip off Britain, in particular black cab drivers. Especially one with a bad attitude.