Back from the brink. My GF8 WRX

Search this Thread

Old 28 June 2015, 07:09 PM
JDMGF8
Scooby Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Back from the brink. My GF8 WRX

Hi folks,
This is my first time having any sort of subaru so go easy on me. After chatting to the garage next door, I couldn't bare to see him scrap the GF8 he had wasting away outside.Name:  DSC_0042_zpsorkwq3kv.jpg
Views: 0
Size:  184.2 KB

As it's only on 70k (unsure if it's km or miles but either way it's fairly low) and has the potential to be a decent Impreza. I've known the owner for 10+ years and since bringing it off the road he's done the cambelt etc and installed a new uprated clutch which is a huge plus for me. So I decided to have it off him and we've agreed to spend some time getting it back on the road including a respray (obviously). So with that in mind the immediate things we can see are the brakes and the exhaust downpipe (which he has already given me, it's a 3" stainless pipe which goes with the rest of the system he's already put on) plus I've opted to do an oil/filter change, possibly another cambelt to be safe and renew the fluids.
Name:  DSC_0062_zpsjraqj5hw.jpg
Size:  211.0 KB

Safe to say the breaks have seen better days so I set to removing the calipers etc and renewing the pads and discs. The pads had meat left but looks can be deceiving
Name:  DSC_0064_zpsvcqjdxqs.jpg
Size:  748.7 KB
Both front sets crumbled and fell out :/

I also opted to wire brush (drill attachment) the disc guards, carriers and calipers ready for painting as a preventative measure. The rear carrier bolts were less compliant so I left those for another day soaking in penetrative fluid. Instead I decided to do an oil and filter change with original filter and some semi synth 10w40 . The oil that came out was thick and gloopy and stank, so was definitely a good idea.